top of page

Happy 18th birthday to me

Today, on the 13th of august, I turned 18. 18 years of my life have already passed. However, all of you don’t know a lot about me, besides me having alopecia. So, I thought it would be fun to do a little “Get to know me” blogpost!



I can barely believe that I turned 18 today. 18? Where did the time go? I got a Snapchat notification the other day, it showed me the pictures of my 16th birthday, a day I still remember like yesterday. I don’t know where the time is going, but I do know it is going way too fast.


As I turned 18; I thought it would be fun to answer 18 questions about me.


1. Where am I from?

I am Dutch, so that means that I am from the Netherlands (not Holland, as that is only a part from the Netherlands ;)). That also means that most of you pronounce my name, which is Anne, wrong. Especially if you are (native) English speaker haha!


2. Was I ever a fan of someone?

Uhm… YES. I was a huge (huge !!!!!) fan of Zendaya. I loved watching her on Shake It Up, I loved seeing her being herself and she really was (and still is) an inspiration for me. I even had a fan account of her, where she liked my picture (yes, horrible editing skills, but one of the coolest things ever)! I met so many lovely people through that account. I don’t know if you remember my dear friend Julia, who went with me to Amsterdam 1.5 weeks ago for the magazine launch I am in, however I met her through that account. I also gained a dear friend from Germany (hello Darwan), Denmark (hello Maja) and more friends from different parts of the world. It is also the place I learned most of my English haha! I love seeing Zendaya develop into the woman she is becoming. Sadly I forgot the password haha.



I also was a huge friend of the Dutch goalkeeper Jasper Cillessen. I met him 3 times (2 times with hair, 1 time without). He once sent me a card, as I was unable to meet him and I gave a member of his team my letter for him. I messaged his (ex)girlfriend on Instagram (must have been a bit weird for her, sorry Joan) and she was so sweet to ask my address to send that card from Jasper to me. He also once send me his goalkeeper gloves and wished me a happy birthday in a video. So that was cool!


3. What do I want to do in the future (career/family/general)?

I would love to start my own business, stand on stage as a motivational speaker and help others. I really hope I can make a career out of that (and in order to do so I need all of you, so thank you for supporting me!). I would love to start a family; however I don’t think I want to get married. In general; I hope to stay healthy and to be able to start my own business where I can help people (working on it :)). I also hope to be able to continue to study and to continue to develop myself. I see developing myself as a very important thing. I want to be the best version of myself as I can be. I hope to find my soulmate, I hope I maintain the friendships I have now and make new ones and I hope to discover a lot of what the world has to offer me!


4. Do I ever wear cheap wigs?

Not really, as I don’t have many wigs. However, I did purchase a cheap wig for “carnaval” this year, I will include a picture. I really like it though! It’s just a bit sad the hair tangles so quickly (it is synthetic btw).


Keep in mind though that my face normally does not look this "perfect"--> thank you make-uo and snapchat filter!

5. Am I excited to turn 18?

Yes and no haha. I love that my age fits me a bit better now, as I do feel a bit more grown up than my age. However, I also feel like the times goes by so fast, which scares me a little bit.

6. Do I have any special plans for the coming year?

I am planning to (hopefully) start making more YouTube videos, to do more with my blog and to be on stage more, or at least make the steps to do so in the future. Also, I am in the last year of my studies this year, so I am planning on graduating and continue to study! I am hoping to develop myself even further and hopefully also inspire people in the process.


7. Am I going to take driving lessons now that I am 18?

I am! I just have no idea when haha! I feel like I am going to be extremely busy upcoming school year with my final exams, the “Mbo” competition and other things I am working on, so I just need to find some time to do so ;P


8. Do I wish my head was shiny bald with no hair growth at all?

Actually, no I do not. I prefer the shaved look over the no hair look. I don’t even know why haha.


Ok random fact; I was born with A LOT of hair. So, you can see, I like to do things differently ;) Instead of growing and gaining more hair, I become more bald as the years pass by!


9. What is my favourite music?

I mostly listen to pop music! I don’t like Dutch music, but I do listen a lot to German (Yes, German, blame the three months in Germany) and English music. I mostly listen to playlists on Spotify, like the top 50 from the Netherlands/England/Germany.


10. Where would I like to go on holiday?

That is a really difficult question, as I would love to visit as many countries as possible. But for now, I would love to go on a holiday to England and Scotland. To visit the USA would also be so awesome. I love to get to know new people, cultures etc.


11. Do I have pets?

I do! I have a dog named Lucky and a bird named Rico :)


12. What do I like to eat?

Ugh, I like to eat a lot (you can see that in two ways haha). But I really like:

- Pizza

- Fries and frikandellen (it is Dutch)

- Watermelon

- Kale with mashed potatoes (it is Dutch)

- Broccoli

- Pasta

And much more!


13. What is my favourite Netflix series?

You cannot ask me that question. The first thing you should know, is that I watch a lot of Netflix. When I say a lot, I really mean a lot haha. But these are some of my favourites:

- Gilmore Girls

- The Missing

- Lucifer

- Scorpion

- Flash/Arrow/Supergirl

- Gotham

- Riverdale

- Gossip Girl

- The Vampire Diaries/The Originals

- Dynasty

- Prison Break

- The Good Witch


Ok, I am going to stop now, I can literally make a whole blog post out of this…haha.


14. How do I relax after a day?

This may come as a surprise to you, but watching Netflix! What? Netflix? I don’t watch that a lot…oh wait I do. I also like to take a quick nap or just to meet with friends.


15. What is a habit I would like to change?

Going to bad late and watching so much Netflix. I would like to get more out of my day and read more. Also, I think it is super important to go to sleep earlier and exercise more, but for some reason I never do. So, I would like to work on that.


16. What is my idea of the perfect date?

Difficult question, but I think a casual one would be great. Watching a movie at home or to go to a place, just sit there, talk and get to know each other. Like really give each other the chance to get to know one another.


17. Do I have a trait that is good and bad at the same time?

I think it is the fact that I care so much. Caring for someone and something is really important, but at the same time it makes things very difficult. Because I care, I can feel if someone is acting differently or when someone ignores me and clearly shows they don’t care anymore, I still care. This causes anxiety and it makes me feel horrible.


18. What advice would I give 13-year-old me?

Stop caring about what others think! Don’t be afraid to show the real you and don’t try so hard to fit in. People are going to hate anyway, so it is best to not be bothered. Focus on the people that really care about you. Allow yourself to rest, you got this! Also, go tell the damn boy you like him as you really f*ked up in the future by not telling him! Who knows what it could have become! Most of all; be proud of yourself and stand up for yourself, you deserve it.

Random facts:

· I am obsessed with stationary haha. I got a set of 15 Stabilo markers for my birthday!


· I am a hard worker and I don’t give myself enough time to rest sometimes. At the same time, when I am home, I am very lazy. The environment where I have to do something (work-home) sometimes determines how concentrated I can work. However, I can also study very hard at home and be super concentrated. It works kind of weird.


· I used to have brown hair and as I have blue eyes, I think that is kind of special.


· I still did not go to bed early yesterday, even though I said I would :)


· I had a dog called Mylo and he had this spot on his ear which was coloured differently as the whole ear. When he passed my friend got me a stuffed animal, which was a dog, named Mylo and he has a different coloured spot on his ear, talk about coincidence!


· I tried drawing a face on my wig head a few weeks ago…it looks horrible lol.


· My room is blue-green + white furniture themed! (Would you be interested in a room/desk tour?)


· I used to not be very girly. My style completely changed.


· In secondary school I put a valentines note in the locker of my crush. I wanted to be smart and write down “with love, anneniem” as the word anonymous in Dutch is anoniem and my name is Anne = anneniem (you get it?). But I was too scared haha, he still figured out it was me though. No, he did not like me back.


· When I had a boyfriend (3 years ago) I was kissing him and I thought I heard my phone, but I did not think much of it…until I saw my 2 friends standing in front of his window watching us…AWKWARD.


· My teacher his hairdresser turned out to be my wig-hairdresser (does that make sense) and he told him I did not wear his wig a lot..also awkward. The wig was not comfortable at all btw. Also, I took my wig off in class and put it on my school bag, my teacher startled when he saw my wig and almost fell over my bag..sorry sir.


· I always take my wig off in random places at random times, but for some reasons my friends find that totally normal. I even took off my wig when we were sitting in the waiting room for the doctor..may not have been the most perfect timing haha.


· I was extremely little when I was born! So, I am quite tall in comparison to what you may have thought when I was born (166 cm).


So, those were the questions and random facts about me haha. I may do this again but with more (divers) questions! Please let me know if you liked getting to know me a bit.

For now, I am going to continue celebrating my birthday! Thank you all for everything, I really appreciate it.


Special thanks to Emily and Floortje for sending me a birthday gift! It means a lot to me. Also, A HUUUUUGE THANK YOU TO MY DEAR FRIENDS WHO BOUGHT A FREAKING HUMAN HAIR WIG FOR MY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


So incredibly grateful <3

With love,

Anne

AlopecianGirlboss

125 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page